750 grammes
Tous nos blogs cuisine Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
We love Papayas
28 février 2016

Spicy carrot kofte

The other day, I needed to use up a bunch of carrots that were starting to get a little old in my fridge. I didn't have much other stuff in my fridge and pantry, and the carrots had started going a little soft already. So I was looking for a recipe that called for cooked carrots and not too many ingredients.

I found a recipe for "spicy carrot kofte". I adapted it a bit, mainly removing ingredients I didn't have handy and this is what I ended up with. Not a bad result at all for turning a boring old carrot into a more interesting dinner!I've made the recipe a few times now. It's also an easy twist on the falafel!

 

INGREDIENTS


  • 300g carrots, roughly chopped
  • 2 spring onions, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 50g dried breadcrumbs
  • 1 tsp chilli flakes (or according to your tolerance of spicyness!)
  • 1 tbsp of cumin
  • 1 tsp dried mint or couple leaves of fresh mint

 

RECIPE


 1 - Simmer the carrots in lightly salted water for about 20 minutes until the carrots have softened.

2 - Drain the carrots ,add the spring onions and garlic and use a blender to mash them up until smooth.

3 - Stir through the breadcrumbs, chilli flakes, cumin and mint.

IMG_1480

 4 - Add the beaten egg. Set aside for 10 minutes or so to allow the breadcrumbs to absorb some of the liquid – the mixture will begin to firm up. 

IMG_1481

5 - Refrigerate for at least an hour until firm. 

6 - Roll into balls and flatten.

IMG_1482

7 -  The first time I tried this recipe, I cooked the koftes in a frying pan. But the second time around, I tried deep frying them. I found this gave a much better result. So crank up your deep-fryer and drop in the keftas for a few minutes, until the are lightly golden brown. Drain on kitchen paper when cooked.

Once they've cooled down a bit, you can enjoy this with a mayo or aioli sauce or even tzatziki. Yuuuum!

 IMG_1506

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Recipe type
                     Cookies
                       Pasta
                     Mexican
                       Asian
                      Cheese
                   Vegetarian
Publicité
Publicité